I woke up this morning with a passage in my head that I wrote a couple years ago. The Last Measure is from a mini-book I’d been writing about transformational experiences. The mini-book currently lives in my computer only, but this morning I woke up thinking about it and thinking about a publishing possibility. In the meantime, though, here’s the excerpt that was pulled me from sleep:

Day 32’s Last Measure:

photo-2Just when you’re feeling beat, someone asks you for that one last measure, that one last bit of energy you held in reserve to use to get yourself back to bed and get well-needed rest.  Sometimes, even, when that last measure is used up, you’re asked for even more.

This was the day I had.  And yet, I found the energy to do what needed to be done.  I found the energy to help someone late in the day, and to keep on helping until the task was complete.

The rule proves true time and time again:  When you have nothing left to give, all you can do is give yourself: your time, your effort, your energy–and you’ll surprise yourself that you had it to give in the first place.  I love that this is so.

I thought I had no more effort left in me, and yet, new oomph was created just as quickly as I needed it.  And helping another person allowed me to forget about myself for a while, and it was just the break I needed.

There’s a whole world going on out there!

~

UDK on Amazon: dld.bz/bYuX4

