I can’t really speak for the real world, because I don’t spend a lot of time in it. But I get the impression that Thank Yous are becoming harder and harder to get, not just in writing, which takes time, but the verbal “Thank Yous” as well.

I’m just as guilty of it as everyone else. I blame it on being busy and running out of time. As a writer, I feel that thank you cards from me should be heartfelt and written through tears of gratitude. (I realize this is extreme, but it’s honestly how I write them.) As for verbal thank yous, I can fall into the habit that the other person “knows” I’m appreciative without my having to say it.

But is that really good enough?

Let me tell you, I do spend time in Restaurantland where Thank You cards are a way of life. I wouldn’t say it’s commonplace to receive these cards at the restaurant, but it is often. (Yesterday we received a thank you via text.)photo-2

When a card comes in, the owner passes it along to the staff. Cards don’t get left in the office or put in the safe. The kitchen has a designated place they post their cards so that the entire kitchen staff can read them, and the servers have a board in our station where we hang ours. (We keep a collection.) When a new one appears, we all gather around to make sure we read it, and we comment on who did what to get mention in the card. These cards remind us why we do what we do. These are stories of people, their lives, and moments that mean something to them (and to us!). We have a hand in that. And here’s the heart of it all: On stressful days, you’ll find somebody taking a moment to re-read a card and even sharing it again with the rest of us.

These words keep us going, keep us believing, keep us striving, even through the muck. That’s powerful.

Say it. Write it. Just get it out there, and often. Thank you for reading me today.

~

UDK on Amazon: dld.bz/bYuX4

