“Would you ever travel to a foreign country by yourself?”

This question was posed to me by a stranger one day while I was waiting for a to go order. The stranger said he liked this question because it told him a lot about a person’s character.  He smiled and asked me the question again.

“I would do it again, yes,” I replied.

“Again?” he asked. He was skeptical. “You’ve traveled, by yourself, to a foreign country?”

“Yes,” I said. “More than once, even.”

The stranger promptly stopped talking to me. (I have that effect.) But I continued to think about it.

When you work a lot of long hours throughout the year and you finally get some vacation time, you take it. You don’t think twice. Just because I didn’t have someone to travel with me didn’t mean I couldn’t go on a well-deserved vacation. Why on earth should that stop me?

I found I liked traveling alone because everything was up to me. I could eat where I wanted and when I wanted, sleep in or get up early, and I didn’t have to wait for anyone else to get ready or get acclimated or to want to do what I wanted to do.

On the other hand, I’ve also been lucky enough to travel with great friends. One particular trip took quite a while to save up for, but it was certainly worth it. My friends and I typically ruled by committee on the trip, and we’re so like-minded that that wasn’t an issue. In fact, it was downright exciting for one of us to come up with a crazy idea and find enthusiastic agreement in the group.

On this Super Bowl Sunday, “teamwork” is the word I keep hearing. Learning to work with others, to be a part of something larger than yourself, striving for the good of the group. There’s something to be said for reaching a goal together. Indeed, life clicks into place you when you find your team.

DSC00318

But we don’t control the ebb and flow. Sometimes we stand strong in our team or as a couple, and sometimes we’re called upon to branch out on our own and leave the crowd behind. True merit is the ability to thrive at both.

So, if you’re wandering around, Party-of-One style in this life, why let that stand in the way of doing what you love? When life calls upon you, stand up and shine, dear star.

~

My book, Upside Down Kingdom, is on Amazon.

