Iphoto’m heading to the woods today. It’s time to enjoy the winter with a little snowshoeing. The very first three times I went walking in these particular woods, I returned to pick up my pen. I’ll share these writings with you this week, as they’re each vastly different.

I imagine some people are naturals when they get in the woods. Others of us, well, we get so focused within that it’s hard to look without. I figure it out, but it takes me three tries.

Here’s the first walk, which took place in late spring:

I walked in the woods today.

The leaves on the ground crunched under our feet when we veered off the path–leaves that were buried under the snow all winter.  I was surprised there were so many, and they looked like they’d just fallen.  My friend Johanna said they would be gone by August, disintegrated.  She said the fall is a gorgeous time to walk the trail.

I looked mostly at my feet, because it was dangerous.  But when I did look up, it was vast, amazing space.  We were very small under the tall trees, which spread as far as the eye could see…

~

The woods writings are part of my book, The Forty, which is unreleased and pending edits. My first novel, Upside Down Kingdom, is available on Amazon.

