bookThis morning, I woke up replaying this scene in my mind. It’s one of my absolute favorites from Upside Down Kingdom, where main character Amy is at a late-night birthday party in Dupont Circle with her restaurant coworkers. At little kid birthday parties, we tend to eat too much cake and run around. At adult birthday parties, we tend to drink too much and dance around. I like that about us.

Anyway, here’s a simple and poignant conversation, which is not only a great moment in the “Katie’s birthday party” scene, but in my opinion, it’s one of the best moments of the entire book. I’ll write it here exactly the way I originally wrote it:

… “He adores you,” Patrick repeated. “I’ve known Dante a long time and I’ve never seen him this happy.”

“How much have you had?” I asked.

“It’s not the alcohol talking, Amy, really. You are beautiful. If I were straight like Dante, I’d be in love with you, too.”

“Now Dante’s in love with me, is he?” I asked, completely amused.

Patrick nodded. “He is. And so am I. Really, you’re beautiful,” he said, reaching across the table for my hand. “And I am in love with you right now,” he declared. “I just can’t do anything about it because it’s not a straight kind of love.”

I offered him my other hand as well, and slowly smiled at him. It was the strangest, and most honest, compliment of my entire life.

~
Find more from Upside Down Kingdom on Amazon.

