photoToo much of a good thing is not a good thing. But good things are still good, and I say we should stop cutting ourselves off from the things that bring us joy and comfort.

Yes, it’s good to diet, and exercise, and stretch, and apparently to tell our friends all about it, and yes, it’s good to take our vitamins, and maybe even to swish coconut oil, and do internal cleanses by consuming nothing but chemically-enhanced beet juice, but when are we just living under a large lists of regimens that get checked off each day without the enjoyment, spontaneity, and wonder of the moment? Why should the lists become life, while life gets pushed by the wayside?

I’m not necessarily saying, “Eat, drink, and be merry.” But while there’s a societal limit to our tolerance of obesity, we’ve been saying for years that there needs to be a limit to our tolerance of skinny, and especially to the bad mood that accompanies self-induced starvation.

Granted, I’m not typically the biggest or smallest person in the room. But sometimes I am, and it doesn’t alter my good mood: because I allow myself rewards (and I wear comfy clothes). The built-in rewards, treats, and little breaks get me through the day’s next challenge, much like in yoga, where you have to take your rests between poses. Giving your all to the rest is just as important as giving your all in the pose. So make each moment count.

A slice of cake should not stand between you and happiness. But if said cake slice would bring the utmost pleasure to your day, then have it. And eat it, too.

~
My first book, Upside Down Kingdom, is available on Amazon.

