Stop me if you’ve heard this one: I was an English major…

But I actually struggled with deciding on writing. It’s all I ever wanted to do, and I always thought I would do it on the side of whatever my “real” career was. When declaring a college major, I stopped and gave that sentiment some real thought.

College Me: “Why spend my time doing something I’m lackluster about, just for money?”

(Oh, College Me, you crack me up!) But there I was, dreading the thought of sitting in college classes that I had little interest in—why would I want to make a career out of something like that?

The answer came to me: I was afraid. Afraid to go for broke and declare myself a writer. What if I were no good? I’d be certain to find out. Could I handle that?

And the answer came from deep within, an overwhelming, “Too bad, you’re doing it. No more fear, let’s go.” (Luckily for me, I grew up in Pittsburgh. We don’t tend to spend a lot of time in wishy-washy-ville. ‘Burgh life says: “Decide. Move forward. You can do it, Kid.”)  photo

When you go for broke, there is that pesky “broke” part to deal with. Oh, but you never regret going for it. Again, and again, and again… That’s the stuff right there, the stuff that counts.

You know what your dream is. Don’t waste time looking for something easy to take its place. Look it in the eye. Take a step forward. “You can do it, Kid.”

~
My first book, Upside Down Kingdom, is available on Amazon. I’m working on more to come.

