WOLFor the past two years, I have been meeting and recording my interviews with a WWII veteran, who is now 91 years old. Tonight, for the first time, I’m excited showcase some of these transcripts*: Words to live by, inspirational messages, the ugliness and poignancy of war, and the resolution to strive for better, all from a perspective that’s seen 91 years and multiple continents.

Hers is a story steeped in history, yet what she can teach us is universally timely. Despite all that she’s seen and experienced, including her time spent at the Bergen-Belsen Concentration Camp, she has compassion and hope for mankind. Through these interviews I sought to find out why, and I think I found the answer. And it’s something that can inspire everyone regardless of heritage, race, religion, background, ability level, or financial standing.

I plan to write this story this fall, pending further grant approval as my current grant has reached its end. But, fear not, I believe in this story and I’ll find a way to do the writing, even if the grant doesn’t come through and I continue to work multiple jobs. You can keep up with my work at JodyBrown.com and here on the blog.

If you’re in Rochester today, please stop by the Creative Salon on 1st Avenue SW. I’ll be there from 6-10 p.m. with my work, along with photographer Ana Gotmer. There’ll be music from Thomas & the Rain, some snack provisions, and of course, wine. It’s an open reception, so stop in for as long as you like. Consider yourselves, now and always, cordially invited in to my work.

-J

~
My first book, Upside Down Kingdom, is available on Amazon. I’ll sign it for you

*This activity is made possible by the generosity of the McKnight Foundation through a grant from the Southeastern Minnesota Arts Council.

