Listening to the radio today, I heard a few terrible stories about people in trouble who found no one willing to help. Imagine someone being bullied right in front of you and you look away, or falling down and instead of helping them up, you step over them and keep going–this kind of thing.

So I sat in some traffic, and I thought about it. What would compel us to ignore someone in trouble or to look away?

The obvious answer that came to me was that we’ve been scammed too many times. We’ve been hurt, ignored, left broken-hearted, and cheated by people we trusted to the point that there’s nothing left to give and now nothing is too graphic that we can’t stare blankly at it or look away from it and pretend it’s not there.

Is there nothing compelling anymore, or is it that we’re just too jaded to be compelled?

~
My first book, Upside Down Kingdom, is available on Amazon. I’ll sign it for you.

