Day Two of packing, hauling, cleaning, and memorizing which box every treasured item went into. I’ll have much less brain power from now on…

A Bag of Monkeys!

A Bag of Monkeys!

But, the good news is that I’ve landed across town at the home of some dear friends. Here I’ll be until I officially move a month from now. (The girl who bought my house wanted to move in early. I said, “Sure, I can do that!”)

Boy was I wrong. There are days when I seem to conquer the world, and rightly so. How does the line go from Dr. Horrible? “The world is a mess. And I just need to rule it.”

Yes, that. Hilariously my favorite line.

These last couple days, however, well, it took a village. With one dear friend by my side, volunteering 12 hours a day to the cause of packing my apparently stuffed little house (and I’d already packed, mind you), my parents who were here earlier this week to pick up my pets and drive them to our new home (I’ll join them next month and missed them immediately), another great friend who popped in today to volunteer her cleaning skills (and refused payment for it), a carpet cleaner who not only arrived early but didn’t charge me (imagine!), neighbors who let me deliver random things to their houses rather than pack them, still more neighbors who stopped over to wish me well and to give me little treasures they crocheted for me, I’m telling you, this has been the best move I’ve ever done. I’ve lived in five U.S. states and this is probably my 10th move, so I don’t say that lightly. It’s the best.

Who knew? All these years of assuming I’m a loner, somehow I’ve become part of a beloved village.

~
My first book, Upside Down Kingdom, is available on Amazon. I’ll sign it for you.

