My sister and I are three years apart, so we truly grew up together. I remember two brothers who lived up the street that joked that we were weird because we got along. Likewise, my sister and I thought they were weird because they always fought with each other.

I think I was ten and she was seven, and we made a pact to be friends. Simple as that. No more arguing with each other. And it kept us out of trouble when our parents came home. No matter what happened throughout the summer days, even if we did get mad at each other, we put on big smiles at the dinner table and pretended all was well. And halfway through dinner, it always was.

photo-3Throughout the days, we’d have giant adventures. We’d convert the whole house to suit whatever game we were making up. And we’d always break for a delicious lunchtime feast, made by my sister who was just starting to experiment in the kitchen. But, every day at 4 o’clock, we’d scramble to get the house cleaned up before our parents got come from work.

Today, anytime I have a long or tough day, I retreat in my mind back to those glorious summer days where the whole world was just my sister and me. I should point out that my sister is now a Home Ec teacher. And that anytime you have a disastrous mess on your hands, you can call me. I can fix that real fast.

~
My first book, Upside Down Kingdom, is available on Amazon. I’ll sign it for you.

