Wow, how did we get here? Not here on Earth or here in 2014, but here hanging out in the blog, writing daily. Well, let me tell you.

photo-5It started with this $20 bill.

I was waiting tables last fall when a couple came in and asked about my book, and the gentleman asked me about the computer I use to write. At the time, I was using a cheapo computer that I bought the year before to take on vacation. Then when I got back from the trip, I realized Little Cheapo worked better and faster than my expensive and aging laptop. But by the time of the conversation with this couple, the cheap computer was starting to die—and I didn’t have the money to replace it.

“Wrong,” the man said. “If you think about it, you’ll find the money. To get you started, I’m giving you this twenty to put toward your new computer. We’ll also leave you a tip for our dinner, but that’s separate. This twenty is for the computer.” Then he said, “You need the proper tools for the job. Don’t forget that.”

I promised him I wouldn’t. I came home that night and set the twenty aside. Soon, I put a binder clip on it to earmark it.

I still had no intention of buying a computer in the next year. I didn’t have the funds, and I could make Little Cheapo work. But by December, even my friends in computer support wouldn’t work on Little Cheapo anymore. So, when my family asked me what I wanted for Christmas, I asked them not to get me anything but to contribute to my computer fund if they wanted. They were happy to do it.

I did some research and bought this new laptop, making payments on time with zero interest. In the first couple days working with it, I giggled to myself at how fast I could get things done. I could post a blog in a fraction of the time it used to take me. (Actually, I still giggle about it.) I started posting daily–not meaning to at first, just not wanting to break the streak.

At the beginning of the year, I planned to use this $20 to make the final laptop payment. But as time goes on, I think I may just keep it to remind myself that the proper tools do make all the difference, and I can find funding for my writing if I make it a priority. The man was absolutely right.

And that’s how we got here to Post #200.
~
Follow the blog! And check out my first book, Upside Down Kingdom, on Amazon.

