Growing up in our family, my sister and I knew that our mom was the disciplinarian. When she said no, we ran to Dad to complain. He never overturned her decisions, but he made us feel better about them.

We later learned that for the big stuff, Dad had made the original call. He’d quietly tell my mom what he thought when my sister and I weren’t around, and it was up to Mom to deliver the news to us. Even when we caught on to this trick, we still ran to Dad for understanding and sympathy.

photo-8He’s a man of few words, but when he does speak, he tells you something you never knew before, often with great humor. Quiet as he is, in a social setting, he’s the one everyone wants to sit beside. And I’ve noticed that when he’s around I have no need for Google. I simply wonder something out loud and he calmly explains the answer. It doesn’t matter what it is, he can explain it well and with kindness.

Growing up with a fairly silent person, it’s important to settle down, quiet down, and really listen. Sometimes these feel like dying arts in our fast-paced world of fingertip information, but they are arts indeed.~

Happy Father’s Day to all fathers out there, and to mine for teaching me volumes, especially about peace.

