Since March, I’ve been working with a shipping company on this cross-country move. I pack up giant crates; they ship them from one state to the other. Simple, right? Except that in the process of staging the house, then later selling and packing, then later packing my office downtown, I’ve accumulated 4 crates listed in two different computer systems (because the crate company did an upgrade in the middle of all that) under 3 separate contract numbers. It’s just a paperwork difficulty, really, but one that would mean hundreds of dollars (if I’m lucky) of upcharge if the crates happened to ship at different times.

At the local office, nobody had the authority to get the crates collected in the computer system. But they were on top of it—they knew me by first name, let me leave early a couple times while they processed my paperwork later on, and had a whole dossier on my move and my crates.

Packing was interesting, because I had no idea when I’d see my things again. I packed anyway.

Friends would ask me, “How are you getting everything to Pittsburgh?”

I’d shrug and say, “Well… The good news is that my crates are not lost…”

Some friends would tell me to write a complaint letter to someone high up in the company, demanding that my situation get straightened out asap or else. I didn’t. It’s not about getting free stuff. It’s not about getting special attention or getting anyone in trouble. The office staff, in fact, were a pleasure to work with and they were doing all they could. They’re a national company, and I’m one of many hundreds of people in this situation. I refused to lose sleep over it. And the last thing I wanted was to run in there, “guns blazing,” and demand correction and retribution from employees doing their best to handle a sticky situation. I’ve known people to act like that, and I’ve seen them, time and again, manage only to ostracize themselves. No, thank you.

photoToday I received a call from a lady at the company. I recognized her name from my time spent in their office as the regional manager. She called to say she fixed my crates. They’re all under one contract now, and will ship out on Monday, together, and for less cost than I originally thought. The problem of the last 4+ months has been resolved.

I thanked her profusely, and told her how helpful the staff has been. She, in turn, thanked me right back.

Interestingly, I don’t feel relief right now, because I refused to feel stressed in the first place. What I feel is happy. It’s a much better routine.

~
My first book, Upside Down Kingdom, is available on Amazon. I’ll sign it for you.

