photo-4I rolled into town, and just when I started feeling overwhelmed at all the post-moving tasks I needed to accomplish, I made a phone call. I’d been out driving around, checking out the brand new storage units in town, so I called the number on the sign. My call was directed to the business voicemail of an old high school classmate. I think my message went something like, “Seriously? Is that you? This is Jody Brown. I’m back in town and I need a storage unit. Call me up.”

Five minutes later, I got a call back that went, “Are you the Jody Brown who went to Knoch? We were in the same class! You won’t believe this, but I’m playing a golf tournament with some others from our class…”

I yelled, “Hi, everyone!” into the phone.

I overhear my classmate telling them, “It’s Jody Brown from Knoch! She’s back in town. She says hi.”

I hear various hellos and chatter.

“Listen,” my classmate says, “I just wanted you to know I got your call. Let’s meet tomorrow and we’ll get you a storage unit.”

We met the next day, signed some papers, he caught me up on half of our class, and he even agreed to help me unload my crates because, he said, “I remember that you were nice in high school. Some people weren’t, but you were always nice.”

Really? This solved a very big dilemma for me. The only person I knew with time on her hands enough to help me unload the crates was my sister, and she kinda just gave birth, so she was out. Being nice 20 years ago helped me tremendously this week.

As I was leaving, he said, “Do you like sushi? We’ll get some people together and we’ll all go. There’s actually a place nearby that’s really good.”

Life can turn on a dime. I’d made one phone call, and now could complete my interstate move, I knew who was in town, and I’d learned where the sushi’s good. Sometimes all you need is that one person to help the pieces fall into place for you, or that one phone call to set the stuck wheels into motion. It reminded me of places I’ve worked over the years, when one or two people would simultaneously get promoted or leave the job and whispers would start that the place was going to fall apart in their absence. Most times, all it took was for the boss to hire that one right person who would make the workplace fun, exciting, and feel like home again. One person can do all that; can change the circumstances and the outlook for the many.

Perhaps today, that one person is you.

~
My first book, Upside Down Kingdom, is available on Amazon.

