weirdThis week, a woman approached me and said something like, “Well, I see you got your way.” She meant that I moved and disorganized her things in order to make space for myself. I didn’t know any of that at the time because I hadn’t moved her things, someone else had. And instead of asking her what she was talking about, I made the decision to just go with it, so I smiled and nodded. (Incidentally, don’t do that.) To this she said, “That disturbs me.” That’s when a voice in my head yelled, “Stop smiling! Stop smiling!”

Wrong human emotion. It took a few minutes to hash out the situation, and I’m pretty sure this lady didn’t believe me and didn’t much care.

As a writer, a communicator, I dislike being misunderstood in any capacity. It bothers me. And I have to get over that, once and for all. So to anyone who’s ever summed up a person or situation based on a word, phrase, reaction, or hearsay, I offer this: Be quick to grant second chances. Humans not only make mistakes (in reactions and in judgements), but they also change.

Perhaps we can’t all be understood all the time, and perhaps that makes us seem weird. But one person’s weird is another’s wonderful.

My introvert friend once told me that he knew he was different growing up, and that, for many years he considered himself weird. I asked him this week how to handle this weird, misunderstood feeling.

“Welcome to my world,” he said. It wasn’t a solution. It was a welcome.

“When did you stop thinking you were weird?” I asked.

“I didn’t,” he said. “One day, I just decided that weird was okay.” And that was that.

~
Jody Brown is the author of Upside Down Kingdom, and is a multi-blogger, poet, and traveler. Her current writing projects, including her daily blog endeavor, #Project365, can be found at JodyBrown.com/writing

