It’s a different world here, sandwiched between a generation of kids who understand complexities in technology faster than I can get toast to burn and the older generation who don’t need it if it’s not already attached to their body. I was born too early to write off technology, and too late to naturally surf the wave. I’ve been Technomitted.

How I got here:

Yes, my elementary school had computers—2 of them, and they took up a computer lab the size of a large closet. Only 2 kids at a time could work on the black and green screens, so we spent more time standing in line listening to the machines make beep sounds more than anything else. By high school, we had a whole room filled with computers where we learned to cut and paste with the scissors and glue icons. Cutting and pasting were “the” computer skills, while the rest of the time, we used the computers to learn how to type.

In college, I figured out enough to upload and download with the first editions of the Internet Explorer and Netscape (remember that one?), and I asked the computer lab kids for help when I got lost in a task. They talked in a gorgeous jargon for which I did not have a key, so I tried to mostly figure things out on my own.

I’ve managed to pick up a few skills, usually the hard way. But over the years, computer programs have become so much more user friendly that even the rest of us finally have a chance.

And of course, I have those friends who read and write computer languages, and whose resumes are a page-long series of acronyms, but when I ask for help they tell me, “That’s not what I do. It’s a different language.” Indeed.

But today is my day. Drumroll, please.

The Victory part:

victory postAfter about a dozen tutorial videos and a lengthy amount of time (entirely too long to admit, but you blogfans will recall I’ve been lamenting about this for shamefully too long), I have finally been successful in adding a slideshow to my website. [At this point, you are in one of two camps. You either hear cymbals crash followed by anticipation of my acceptance speech, or you hear the cymbals followed by crickets chirping because this is nothing to you. Camp Two, we’ve brought in Friedrich Nietzsche who reminds us, “He who would learn to fly one day must first learn to stand and walk and run and climb and dance; one cannot fly into flying.”]

Now, everybody, back to Camp One for my speech:

Thank you, thank you! For this Generation Technomitted girl, this is a major victory, one that proves we can achieve our goals even if we jump into a task well out of our league. I did not take down the entire website (for too long). I made a backup copy of all the header code so I could fix it if (when) it crashed. And the biggest key of all, I lucked into a 3-minute video done by a kid apologizing for his English skills who zipped through where the code was hiding faster and better than the 20-minute videos I’d been watching all summer. Thank you, JellePress! And thank you, family, friends, and blogfans for your love and encouragement. This one’s for you!

Celebrate every victory, big and small.

~
Jody Brown is the author of Upside Down Kingdom, and is a multi-blogger, poet, and traveler. Her current writing projects, including her daily blog endeavor, #Project365, can be found at JodyBrown.com/writing

