Light of My EyeMaybe it’s just me, but I’m thinking today about bleach. Specifically, I’m thinking about chlorine bleach and how it works with stains and clothing. A long time ago, I don’t remember when, someone told me that bleach didn’t remove stains in the traditional sense. He was a chef, come to think of it. He told me that chlorine bleach didn’t get rid of the stain, but made it invisible to the human eye, chemically.

He’s right: chlorine bleach oxidizes bonds between carbon atoms, reducing a substance’s ability to absorb light, thus, making the substance appear white to our eye. The stain is still very much there. It all has to do with light, and how we see things.

And that is what I’m thinking about. Some known things are just a trick of the light, like a magician’s spell. Some things that we’ve known, without a doubt, were never known at all.

Rather than take this information and wonder, “What can be relied upon, ever?” I instead think, “This opens up possibilities.”

We are not just what we see, what we feel, a bag of walking experiences—we are all of those things simultaneously. We can be as simple or as complicated as we like, the fact is, we are not just what we appear to be, and sometimes, the answers take a little more thought.

We aren’t just a low mood after a bad day, or an exuberant laugh after a great day. Below the surface, there is so much more going on. So dive into the mystery, swim the torrid currents, and emerge victorious, with beautiful understanding.

~
Jody Brown is the author of Upside Down Kingdom, and is a multi-blogger, poet, and traveler. Her current writing projects, including her daily blog endeavor, #Project365, can be found at JodyBrown.com/writing

