On the Road to Santa FeRecently, I was faced with taking an extra shift at work, a shift that would have made me money. But I had writing to do, and some organizing to do in my writing life including making placards and signs and setting up for a book signing.

I agonized over the decision. I could do a lot of good with the extra money. I planned and re-planned how to get all of my ends tied up while also taking the extra money shift. In the end, I couldn’t see how I would get it all done without compromising the writing, which was its own, very final, roadblock to me. I try to make good decisions, and sometimes you need to opt for the money, but not to the detriment of the work I really do, not to the suffering of the writing. I chose not to work for straight money, and I felt like kicking myself for it even after the decision was made. But the decision was made; I would work for me, for my own betterment. I chose me.

And then I remembered a rare rainy day in Santa Fe a couple years ago, when a friend of mine had been grappling with a financial decision. When he finally made his choice, he was quick to share it with those of us traveling with him. “I choose to invest in me,” he said. “I can put this money into my own business and I can multiply it with the work I do. I’ll invest in me.”

I chose to invest in me, and when I started doing the writing work and organizing that I’d needed to do, it felt like freedom. And I think I finally understood the feeling my friend had that day it rained in Santa Fe.

You can live the life you want, the life you were meant to have. Just choose it.

~
Jody Brown is the author of Upside Down Kingdom, and is a multi-blogger, poet, and traveler. To learn more about her current writing projects, or for ways to donate toward their completion, see JodyBrown.com/writing.

