The Dust of StonesAs a kid, I spent a lot of time in this old building, staring at its plaster walls and daydreaming. I used to imagine that it was once solid rock, painstakingly hollowed out to allow us entry. To go to that much trouble, I knew that there must be something amazing and valuable inside these walls.

I imagined rock carvers permanently covered in the dust of stones and hammering away for an age and a half, knowing that one day someone would sit here, admire their handicraft, and be inspired to dream big dreams.

Here I sit again, this time as an adult. And I know it’s thick plaster on these walls, not rock. Despite that difference, I know that it took time and effort to apply it so thick and design into it. I see it for what it is, for what it was meant to be, and for what it has meant to me all this time, and I think, “Yes, there’s clearly treasure here.”

~
Jody Brown is the author of Upside Down Kingdom, and is a multi-blogger, poet, and traveler. To learn more about her current writing projects, or for ways to donate toward their completion, see JodyBrown.com/writing.

