To Face UnafraidRecently, I overheard a college student talking about conspiracies. He pointed out that to conspire is to plan, and thus, he said, planning and conspiracy are one and the same. (He forgot that conspiring has a negative connotation to it, that it involves not just planning but planning harm of some sort, which is an important distinction.) But hours after overhearing this, I heard “Winter Wonderland” on a restaurant speaker, and specifically walked inside to hear the line that goes, “We face unafraid the plans that we’ve made…”

And that word unafraid is what gets me. I must have sung that song a zillion times in life, and never really paid attention to that word. So, for days now, I’ve been thinking about the ability to face something, anything, everything without fear. How often do we actually do that? Should we be doing it more often?

I rewound the song in my mind and thought about how the participants were conspiring and dreaming around a fire–and I don’t think they were literally conspiring to do harm but were simply attempting to dream big and without limits. In a way, that in itself might be considered harmful. I imagine in my mind, the “Them,” the stodgy people out there who conspire to keep the rest of us dreamers in line, thwarting our efforts to think bigger and better, tripping us up at every turn. Rather than think of closed doors or impossibilities in life, I prefer to think of the Them simply shaking their heads, which makes it easier to walk on by on my road to impossible. When you think of it, most of our entire lives are impossibilities. And yet… Yes, somehow, yet we strive.

Among friends, especially sitting around a toasty fireplace, it’s easier to make crazy plans and have the courage to chase them down. Surrounded by the best of friends, we’re encouraged to dream big and believe that we can achieve anything. It’s even possible to achieve the lofty goals we set for ourselves in moments of warmth and friendship. This is what it is to live in a wonderland.

So press on, dreamers of the impossible. Press on undeterred and unafraid.

~
Jody Brown is the author of Upside Down Kingdom, and is a multi-blogger, poet, and traveler. To learn more about her current writing projects, or for ways to donate toward their completion, see JodyBrown.com/writing.

