Hope SpiralI woke up thinking, “I have high hopes for the day.” Of course I do. I have hope, so to say I have no hope is untrue. And since hope is clearly here, it would be silly to think that I have little hope. I admit that hope can certainly come in large and small amounts, but it also seems to feed on itself. A little goes a long way. And because once you let it in it quickly spreads in multiple directions, it’s accurate to say I have hopes, plural, rather than one simple hope.

Hope itself carries its own dividing line. You’re on one side of the line or the other; you either have it or you don’t. And once you have it, even a little of it, you move further and further away from that dividing line into that ever brightening sunflower field of hope.

I remember once in high school a teacher asked us what got us out of bed every morning. Some answered the alarm clock, others said their parents, still others said the smell of breakfast. I answered, “Opportunity.” And I now know that the two, opportunity and hope, are never far from one another.

It seems to me that if you dare to hope, why not dare to aim high? You’re already being daring. And what’s life, without all that wondrous daring?

And even though we can’t control any of the outcomes in this daring life, we can control how we approach them. The approach is all up to us, which means that a life in hope is never wasted.

And thus, “I have high hopes for the day.”

~
Jody Brown is the author of Upside Down Kingdom, and is a multi-blogger, poet, and traveler. To learn more about her current writing projects, or for ways to donate toward their completion, see JodyBrown.com/writing.

