photo-3This picture says something. I just don’t know what. I wrote it in the middle of the night because it was brilliant.

We all do this–reach for a pen in the middle of the night–and I find that interesting. Like you, I remember the moment I wrote this down like it was yesterday. I was staying in the guest room at my friends’ house. Everything was unfamiliar and it took a little while to settle in. When I was nearly asleep, I suddenly figured it all out. Life made sense. My eyes bolted open. I had it. And I knew the only way I’d be able to get to sleep again would be for me to record it for the morning.

The next day I eagerly opened my journal to find the scrawl you see. I was so disappointed. This was at a time in life when I so very much needed answers. I racked my brain trying to remember the life-changing thought I’d had the night before.

And then: I laughed. I let go of the expectations and looked at this paper for what it is and I laughed. It felt good.

I visit this page often. I always try to decipher it. And I always wind up laughing.

So there they are, the answers to life’s mysteries. Just like that.

~
I wrote a book called Upside Down Kingdom.