For those of you who asked, here is my poem, Be a Thermostat, Not a Thermometer, that I mentioned in my blog One Way to Avoid a Cold, Wet Butt

Be a Thermostat, Not a Thermometer
says that sign above your head
that you stole from who-knows-where
To the right of it,
your shelf of name tags:
Benke’s Automotive, Fred’s Bookstore,
Denny’s, The Coffee Escape, Russell’s Music

I think to myself, “You’re gonna have to build a bigger shelf.”
You look from the shelf back to me again.
“I’ve been thinking about building a bigger shelf,” you say.
Sitting here, you on the couch with a guitar in your hands,
me on the chair staring at the posters on your ceiling,
as you strum along to the music in your head,
I begin to hear it, too,
and hum along.

~

Upside Down Kingdom is my first published novel. Please check it out on Amazon.