Oh, the things we do for luck!

We toss spilled salt over our left shoulder, hang horseshoes, kiss for luck, collect four-leaf clovers, carry a rabbit’s foot…

To ward off bad luck, we avoid opening umbrellas indoors, we avoid walking on cracks, breaking mirrors, walking under ladders, we avoid black cats…

photo-6My mother tells a story of her grandmother who used to sweep up the bread crumbs from the kitchen floor every night and put them in the doorway because any vampire trying to get in at night would have to count them all before he’d enter the house.

Thinking about all this, I realize, One: Humans fascinate me.

And Two: Perhaps one of the only reasons I’m here today, writing away, is because my great grandmother gathered those crumbs.

~
Follow the blog! And check out my first book, Upside Down Kingdom, on Amazon.