Snowball EffectSome clothes have found their way into my office, clothes that don’t fit in my closet. And, who am I kidding? They don’t fit. Period.

I sit here typing and looking at them, knowing that, all it takes is to pick up the first item and put it in a pile for this process to begin. I’d love to say I’ll have one big pile for charity, but I know I’ll have multiple categories, like Use as Rags, Not Good Enough to Be Rags, You Kept This Since High School?, and Give to My Nephew Because He’s Tall for a 3-Year Old So It Will Fit Him Better.

From here, I can see the first three items that I would pick up. I also see an area across the room that could serve as a space for piles.

Once these items are gone to charity, trash, or reuse, I can see nothing but possibilities for this room and for the extra closet space. This morning, I woke up and thought, “Christmas is coming,” as if I could use the extra space to make room for nephew gifts, you know, with my unlimited budget that comes as a lofty starving artist. It was a nice thought, anyway, one that made me laugh and a mental step toward this reorganization. More to reality, though, the extra space will feel like a relief. It’s a gift to look at your own baggage and know you don’t need it.

All I have to do is pick up the first item, and I’ll be off and running, categorizing, piling, making decisions on keeping and letting go. Just pick up one item, just one, that’s all. Or sit here typing and thinking about picking up an item. One item… and the snowball effect should take over.

Incidentally, a lot of the snowball effect can be ascribed to a woman typing and eating cookies.

~
Jody Brown is the author of Upside Down Kingdom, and is a multi-blogger, poet, and traveler. Her current writing projects, including her daily blog endeavor, #Project365, can be found at JodyBrown.com/writing